Manchester United’s Top 10 Premier League Goal Scorers

Manchester United have had some of the top strikers in the history of the Premier League, helping them become the record champions of England with 20 titles.

Although Betfair’s Premier League betting odds aren’t looking very favourable for the remainder of our season, we still have the Champions League and FA Cup to compete for, whilst also building a team capable of challenging for England’s top prize next season.

Romelu Lukaku currently leads the line at Old Trafford and has the opportunity to join the following list one day – perhaps as early as next season.  Here are Manchester United’s top 10 all-time Premier League goal scorers:

Wayne Rooney (183)

Fourth on Manchester United’s Premier League appearance list, Wayne Rooney smashed in the goals during his 13-year stay at Old Trafford, in between two spells at Everton.  Although his goal tally faded out in his final two seasons, the former England captain notched 27 goals in 2011-12 and 26 in 2009-10.

Wayne Rooney is also Manchester United’s all-time top scorer in all competitions, surpassing Sir Bobby Charlton with a late goal versus Stoke City last season.

Ryan Giggs (109)

Ryan Giggs’ Manchester United debut pre-dated the Premier League, scoring five goals in the old First Division before it was re-branded in 1992.  Among the 109 goals he scored in the Premier League the Welsh winger holds the Premier League record for scoring in 21 consecutive seasons.

Another Premier League record that the current co-owner of Salford City holds is that Giggs won 13 Premier League winners’ medals as a player.

Paul Scholes (107)

All eighteen-and-a-half seasons Paul Scholes spent playing football were with Manchester United in the Premier League era.  Known for his excellent passing ability and scoring spectacular long-range goals, he was an essential part of Sir Alex Ferguson’s sides, collecting 11 Premier League winners’ medals over the years.

Scholes racked up 107 Premier League goals during his time at Old Trafford, playing in centre midfield alongside the likes of Roy Keane, Nicky Butt and Michael Carrick.

Ruud van Nistelrooy (95)

Sir Alex Ferguson found a goal machine from PSV Eindhoven in Ruud van Nistelrooy.  The Dutch superstar had already scored 60 goals in only 57 Eredivisie appearances before he was set to join the Premier League giants in the summer of 2000 before going down with a serious injury whilst on trial in 2000.  The United boss didn’t give up on the hot prospect and snapped him up the following summer.

Van Nistelrooy went on to score 95 goals in only 150 Premier League games for Manchester United, though only winning the Premier League title on one occasion before moving to Real Madrid.

Andrew Cole (93)

Manchester United upset Newcastle United fans in January 1995 when Sir Alex Ferguson was able to prise away their top goalscorer Andrew Cole in a deal worth £6 million plus Keith Gillespie.  Cole went on to score 93 goals in 195 Premier League appearances for the Red Devils, forming an excellent partnership with Dwight Yorke up front, helping Manchester United become the first English side to win the treble, in the 1998-99 season.

Andrew Cole won the Premier League five times in seven-and-a-half-years with Manchester United, before going on to play for Blackburn Rovers, Fulham, Manchester City, Portsmouth, Birmingham City, Sunderland, Burnley and Nottingham Forest.

Ole Gunnar Solskjær (91)

Sir Alex Ferguson brought an unknown Norwegian striker to the Premier League in 1996 – the same summer he missed out on Alan Shearer.  Whilst Ole Gunnar Solskjær was unable to replicate Shearer’s goalscoring records he would prove to be an excellent addition to a side that were about to become very successful.

Solskjær won six titles in his 11 years at Manchester United, though played very little towards the end, due to injuries.  He is most well-known for scoring United’s dramatic winner in stoppage time of the 1999 Champions League final versus Bayern Munich.

Cristiano Ronaldo (84)

What is now considered one of the biggest bargains in the history of football, Manchester United signed teenager Cristiano Ronaldo for £12.24 million in the summer of 2003.  He’d impressed the players when lining up for Sporting Club of Portugal in a friendly that prompted the club to sign him.

Ronaldo became very prolific from out on the wing in his final three seasons at Old Trafford before moving in a then world record transfer fee to Real Madrid in 2009.  He has gone on to become one of the greatest players to ever grace the planet.  He is constantly being linked with a move back.  Only time will tell but if Ronaldo moved back to Old Trafford you can expect Betfair’s predictions on the Premier League   to include us among next season’s favourites!

Eric Cantona (64)

Eric Cantona transferred from Leeds United to Manchester United for a mere £1 million in 1992, much to the displeasure of the Yorkshire club’s fans.  The controversial forward had already won the 1990-91 French Division 1 title with Marseille, the 1991-92 First Division with Leeds and would make it three league titles in as many seasons with three different clubs when he was part of Sir Alex Ferguson’s side that won the inaugural Premier League campaign.

Cantona went on to win the Premier League title in four of the five seasons he played for Manchester United.  The one season that he didn’t lift the trophy was 1994-95 when he served a hefty ban for his kung-fu kick on a Crystal Palace supporter.

David Beckham (62)

From the Class of ’92, David Beckham was a star on and off the field.  His hard work got him into the Manchester United first team in the mid-90s and his goal from the halfway line against Wimbledon on the opening day of the 1996-97 season helped shoot him to stardom.

Beckham would go on to play for Real Madrid, LA Galaxy, AC Milan and Paris Saint-Germain, winning the top flight in all but Italy.

Robin van Persie (48)

Manchester United have three strikers all on 48 goals but it’s Robin van Persie who has the best goals per game ratio, so the former-Arsenal star props up our list ahead of Dwight Yorke and Dimitar Berbatov.

Van Persie upset Arsenal fans with his move to their rivals in 2012 but the Dutch international would win his first Premier League title in his debut season with the Red Devils and be the Golden Boot winner in the process.

Leave a Reply

Name *
Email *